Path Home Educators Professional Development New Teacher New Teacher Academy

New Teacher Academy

All new teachers, including CareerTech Teacher Institute participants, are required to attend their respective division's summer New Teacher Academy. Attendance for the follow-up New Teacher Academy sessions is required of all new teachers except those participating in the CareerTech Teacher Institute.

NTA.jpg

Goal: New Teachers with pedagogy and support that enables them to deliver effective New Teacher experiences to students.

  • Objective: infuse basic pedagogy, Classroom Management, Instructional Planning, Instructional Strategies, Classroom Assessment, to teachers teaching throughout the year.
  • Objective: Allow new teachers to work together to solve common problems they all face.
Pedagogy will be infused during the summer academy within each division [location determined by division]. Delivery will be on-site with division specialists during the July regularly scheduled New Teacher Academy Meeting.
All teachers will be brought back together three more times:
  • September 24, 2014
  • November 5, 2014
  • January 13, 2015
Three additional meetings will deliver pedagogy (Instructional Strategies, Classroom Assessment, Classroom Management and Instructional Planning) by instructional specialists with follow-up and practical application.

Division Contacts for Enrollment

New Agricultural Education Teachers

Rose Bonjour, Phone: 405.743.5487, Email: rose.bonjour@careertech.ok.gov

Guy Shoulders, Phone: 405.743.5488, Email: guy.shouders@okcareertech.ok.gov

New Business, Marketing and Information Technology Education Teachers

Tonja Bell, Phone: 405.743.5426, Email: tonja.bell@careertech.ok.gov

Karen Sneary, Phome: 405.743.5473, Email:  karen.sneary@careertech.ok.gov

New Family and Consumer Sciences Education Teachers

MaryJane Grayson, Phone: 405.743.5469, Email: maryjane.grayson@careertech.ok.gov

New Health Careers Education Teachers

Lara Skaggs, Phone: 405.743.5106, Email: lara.skaggs@careertech.ok.gov

Cindy Schneider, Phone: 405.743.5105, Email: cindy.schneider@careertech.ok.gov

New Science, Technology, Engineering and Mathematics Teachers

Dawn Frank, Phone: 405.743.5438, Email: dawn.frank@careertech.ok.gov

New Trade and Industrial Education Teachers

John Day, Phone: 405.743.5146, Email: john.day@careertech.ok.gov

 

COST

 

Cost will vary depending on your educational division.

Lodging

September -

November -

January -

 

Calendar of events

July

  • The summer module will be infused during the summer academy within each division (location determined by division).
  • Delivery will be by an onsite specialist with follow-up and practical application.

Aug. 1

  • New teachers will get an overview of the CTE system and the New Teacher Academy

September 24, 2014

Location:

Time: 8 a.m. to 5 p.m.

Break Out Rooms:

November 5, 2014

Location:

Time: 8 a.m. to 5 p.m.

Break Out Rooms:

January 13, 2015

Location:

Time: 8 a.m. to 5 p.m.

Break Out Rooms: