Path Home News Press Releases 2012 Oklahoma FFA Foundation Named Top Nonprofit
Jump to navigation

Oklahoma FFA Foundation Named Top Nonprofit

Oklahoma FFA Foundation Named Top Nonprofit

Randy Gilbert, Oklahoma FFA Foundation Board of Directors and member of the State Board of Career and Technology Education; Suzanne Gilbert - Oklahoma FFA Foundation Board of Directors; Paula Brashears; and Kendall Brashears, executive director of the Okl

The Oklahoma FFA Foundation was named a category winner for the Youth Development Division at the fifth annual Oklahoma Nonprofit Excellence (ONE) Awards in Tulsa. In total, eight agencies were named winners of their unique category of service, and 16 received finalist awards.

In addition, the Oklahoma FFA Foundation was named the overall winner of the event and was awarded the $10,000 Charles Schusterman Award for Excellence. In total, nearly $150,000 was awarded to 24 of the state’s top nonprofits.

The ONE Awards, hosted annually by the Oklahoma Center for Nonprofits, is a celebratory event that honors nonprofits throughout the state for serving and inspiring their communities.

Paula Huck, event chair of the 2012 ONE Awards, praised the work of this year’s finalists.

“The 24 finalists honored this evening continually help to educate, enrich and encourage Oklahomans every day,” Huck said. “Their commitment to excellence has set them apart.”

The Oklahoma FFA Foundation supports over 24,000 FFA members in 356 FFA Chapters across the state.  The goal of the FFA Foundation is to adequately fund the leadership development activities of the FFA.  “Being recognized by the Oklahoma Center for Nonprofits as the Charles Schusterman Award for Excellence winner is an honor of the highest magnitude,” said Kendall Brashears, Executive Director of the FFA Foundation.  “The credibility and validity this award brings to our organization will speak volumes in the future.”

Kendall Brashears accepted the Charles Schusterman Award for Excellence on behalf of the Oklahoma FFA Foundation at the event. They were also awarded a $10,000 monetary gift.

Previous Charles Schusterman Award of Excellence winners include:  The Oklahoma Blood Institute, the Regional Food Bank of Oklahoma, the Mental Health Association of Tulsa, and the National Cowboy and Western Heritage Museum.

Joe Moran, Board Chair of the Oklahoma Center for Nonprofits, commended the winners and finalists.

“Our board understands the hard work and dedication of this year’s finalists,” Moran said. “We work directly with our nonprofits, which is why we are here to celebrate those accomplishments. Our board believes these organizations are most deserving of this recognition, and we are proud to honor them.”

Finalists for the ONE Awards are nominated and selected by a Commission chaired by J. Jerry Dickman of Tulsa. The Commission comprises community leaders from throughout the state and meets annually to identify and reward nonprofits that exhibit excellence in service.

The Commissioners include: Michael Cawley, Ardmore; Nance Diamond, Shawnee; Frederick Drummond, Pawhuska; Ken Fergeson, Altus; R.H. Harbaugh, Tulsa; Kim Henry, Oklahoma City; David Hogan, Tulsa; Phil Lakin, Tulsa; Frank Merrick, Oklahoma City; Polly Nichols, Oklahoma City; and the Rev. George Young, Oklahoma City.

“Our Commission nominated each finalist based on their overall impact and organizational accountability,” Huck said. “We are all very proud of the work of each nonprofit honored at the ONE Awards.”

Of nonprofits nominated from across the state, 24 were selected as finalists in one of eight categories of service. The winners in each category received $7,500, and the two other finalists received $5,000



The Barnett Family Foundation & Moran Family Foundation Award: Arts and Humanities
Cherokee Strip Regional Heritage Center, Inc.; Oklahoma City Philharmonic
Tulsa Ballet

Devon Energy Award: Community
Bridges; Community Food Bank of Eastern Oklahoma
The Homeless Alliance, Inc.

H.A. and Mary K. Chapman Charitable Foundations Award: Education
Oklahoma City Community College Foundation; Tulsa Community College Foundation
Street School, Inc.

Blue Cross and Blue Shield of Oklahoma & Potts Family Foundation Award: Health Services
Emergency Infant Services, Inc.; Oklahoma Project Woman
Hearts for Hearing

George Kaiser Family Foundation Award: Self-Sufficiency
Christian Helping Hands; Southwestern Youth Services, Inc.
Family Promise of Lawton

Anne and Henry Zarrow Foundation & Herman Kaiser Foundation Award: Seniors
Metropolitan Better Living Center, Inc. (MBLC); OASIS Adult Day Services
Dentists for the Disabled and Elderly in Need of Treatment, Inc. (D-DENT)

Hardesty Family Foundation, Inc. Award: Sports and Recreation
The Miracle League of Edmond; Oklahoma City Boathouse Foundation
Life Change Academy dba Life Change Ballroom

Chesapeake Energy Corporation Award: Youth Development
Calm Waters Center for Children and Families; Crosstown Learning Center, Inc.
Oklahoma FFA Foundation

Filed under:
Jump to content