Path Home News Press Releases 2015 CareerTech educators share ideas, honor award winners at conference
Jump to navigation

CareerTech educators share ideas, honor award winners at conference

Aug. 6, 2015

More than 3,700 Oklahoma CareerTech employees met at the 48th annual Oklahoma Career and Technology Education Summer Conference to discuss ideas and advancements in CareerTech education and to learn what they can do to make the system even better.

The conference was held Aug. 3-4 in partnership with the Oklahoma Association of Career and Technology Education. The conference provided opportunities to share best practices and learn about cutting-edge technology and processes, State Director Marcie Mack said.

Rick Rigsby, president and CEO of Rick Rigsby Communications, spoke in the opening general session and encouraged CareerTech educators and staff members to keep improving.

“Good enough is not good enough when you can be better,” he said. “Better is not better when you can be the best.”

The CareerTech System also honored Oklahoma CareerTech Teacher of the Year Janet Archer of Great Plains Tech Center, Postsecondary Teacher of the Year Gay Simpson of the CareerTech Skills Centers, Outstanding New Teacher Justin Nisbett of Meridian Tech Center and Support Staff Member of the Year Michelle McNutt of Kiamichi Tech Centers. Each received a monetary award from Express Employment Professionals.

Other awards included OkACTE’s highest honor, the Francis Tuttle Award, which went to Tom Thomas of Great Plains Tech Center, and the Arch Alexander Award, which went to Fiona McAlister of Southern Oklahoma Tech Center.

Complete list of 2015 OKACTE award winners

Arch Alexander Award – Fiona McAlister

Francis Tuttle  Career Excellence Award – Tom Thomas, Great Plains Technology Center

Communications and Marketing – Sandy Fields, Wes Watkins Technology Center

OkACTE Kaleidoscope – Metro Career Academy World’s Fair          

OATC Distinguished Achievement – Canadian Valley Technology Center, Great Plains Technology Center, Gordon Cooper Technology Center, Metro Technology Centers

OkACTE Administrator of the Year – Richard Lowe – Canadian Valley Technology Center

Career Guidance Award – Debbie Waken, Tulsa Technology Center

OkACTE Carl Perkins Community Service – Bobbie Wintz, Stroud Public Schools

OkACTE Outstanding New Professionals – Susan Jones, Francis Tuttle Technology Center; Amy Warner, Francis Tuttle Technology Center; Tina Graham, Southern Oklahoma Technology center; Brian James, Kiamichi Technology Center

OkACTE Outstanding New Teacher of the Year – Justin Nisbett, Meridian Technology Center          

OkACTE Outstanding Postsecondary Teacher of the Year – Gay Simpson, ODCTE Skills Centers          

OkACTE Support Staff Member of the Year – Michelle McNutt, Kiamichi Technology Center

OkACTE Teacher of the Year – Jackie Archer, Great Plains Technology Center

State Superintendent of Public Instruction – Moore Public Schools

National Technical Honor Society Stars of Excellence Award – Laura Harrison, Kiamichi Tech; Jeremy Zweiacker, ODCTE


Jump to content