Jump to navigation

Bea Paul

Oct. 7, 2015

Bea Paul enters CareerTech Hall of Fame

2015 Beatrice "Bea" PaulBea Paul, former job developer at Autry Technology Center in Enid, is one of five 2015 inductees into the Oklahoma CareerTech Hall of Fame.

The ceremony will be Oct. 21 on Francis Tuttle Technology Center’s Rockwell Campus in Oklahoma City. Other inductees are Phil Berkenbile, Morrison; Dean Denton, Broken Arrow; Dale DeWitt, Braman; and Greg Pierce, Ada.

The 2015 class of inductees will increase the Hall of Fame membership to 75. The Hall of Fame, which is sponsored by the Oklahoman Foundation for Career and Technology Education, was founded in 1990. Previous inductees include governors, college deans and professors, business and industry leaders, educators and CareerTech faculty, staff and agency members.

“Oklahoma CareerTech Hall of Fame honorees have contributed significantly to the success of the CareerTech System,” said Marcie Mack, CareerTech state director. “Each recipient has advanced the mission of CareerTech in unique and extraordinary ways. Their commitment to students, businesses and the lives of Oklahomans is appreciated and honored.”

Paul’s CareerTech career began because of 4-H, which served as a catalyst for her to attend Oklahoma State University. She earned a bachelor’s degree in the Home Economics College (now the College of Human Sciences) and became an Oklahoma Cooperative Extension agent before accepting a home economics teaching position at Chisholm High School.

She taught for 15 years at Chisholm High School, where she was also the adviser for the CareerTech student organization FCCLA, 4-H leader and Honor Society sponsor.

She moved to Autry Technology Center to develop and implement the Displaced Homemaker Program, which helped participants complete skill training programs and become productive employees. In 1992, she became the job developer at Autry Tech and helped students develop their job readiness skills.

 “I just wish that more students would have the opportunity to have a teacher like Bea during their lives. It would be a better place to live,” said Cheryl Cooksey, former student and now graphic arts instructor at Autry Tech.

Paul earned a master’s degree from the University of Central Oklahoma, where she also served as an adjunct instructor. She was very close to completing her doctorate in education.

Paul received the OSU Distinguished Human Sciences Alumni Award, the AVA Region IV Vocational Home Economics Teacher Award, the Oklahoma Home Economics Teacher of the Year Award, the FHA Oklahoma Honorary Membership Award and the FFA Honorary Chapter Farmer Award. She was also named National ACTE Educator of the Year, ACTE Region IV Educator of the Year, Oklahoma ACTE Educator of the Year, Chamber of Commerce Ambassador of the Year and YWCA Woman of the Year and was a Frances Tuttle Career Excellence Award finalist.

After 43 years as an educator, Paul remains active in her church and community. She is chairwoman of the OSU Wesley Foundation Board, serves as an Enid Chamber of Commerce Ambassador, enjoys attending OSU sporting events and finds time for travel.

For more information about the Hall of Fame banquet and to reserve a ticket, please contact LaMecia Stidham, 405-743-5115. Tickets are $60 each.

The Oklahoma Department of Career and Technology Education provides leadership and resources and assures standards of excellence for a comprehensive statewide system of career and technology education. The system offers programs and services in 29 technology center districts operating on 59 campuses, 393 comprehensive school districts and 13 Skills Centers campuses that include three juvenile facilities.

The agency is governed by the State Board of Career and Technology Education and works closely with the State Department of Education and the State Regents for Higher Education to provide a seamless educational system for all Oklahomans.

Laura Wilson, Writer/Editor

Jump to content