Path Home News Press Releases 2017 National HOSA officer receives U.S. Presidential Scholars award
Jump to navigation

National HOSA officer receives U.S. Presidential Scholars award

HOSA officer Jada Holliday was one of only three Oklahomans to receive the 2017 U.S. Presidential Scholars award.

Jada Holliday of Broken Arrow high school was recently named a U.S. Presidential Scholar.  Holliday was one of 161 finalists chosen from a pool of 5,300 applicants.

The White House Commission on Presidential Scholars selects scholars annually based on their academic success, artistic excellence, essays, school evaluations and transcripts, as well as evidence of community service, leadership, and demonstrated commitment to high ideals.

Twenty of this year's 161 finalists are involved in CareerTech education, and two are members of HOSA, the CareerTech student organization associated with health careers education. Holliday serves as HOSA's National Region 1 Vice President.

The U.S. Presidential Scholars program was established in 1964 by order of the president, to recognize and honor some of our nation's most distinguished graduating high school seniors. In 1979 the program was extended to recognize students who demonstrate exceptional talent in the visual, creative and performing arts. In 2015, the program was again extended to recognize students who demonstrate ability and accomplishment in career and technical education fields.

Anne Clark of Timpview High School in Utah is also a HOSA member and a finalist in the scholars program.

Related content:

Jada Holliday's National HOSA Officer Candidate Video

U.S. Presidential Scholars program

Filed under:
Jump to content